GMG Art

peer into Ms. Lase's art room at GMG

Children’s Day Fish Kites March 7, 2012

Children’s Day is a holiday on May 5th in Japan where families hang carp kites for each child in their family.
Kindergarten students made kites to hang in our art room until May 5th when they will go home.

Students traced a fish pattern. We drew from observation adding fins, tail, scales, etc. Students colored with crayons and then we painted over top to fill in any missed areas. Kinders are still working on their coloring and patience of filling in large areas without it looking scribbly so the glitter watercolor was a nice touch.

To finish, we added string to hang and tissue paper to the tail.

 

2 Responses to “Children’s Day Fish Kites”

  1. Lindsey Delavan Says:

    As an art teacher constantly on the prowl for ideas, I’m always amassing tons of blogs in my bookmarks folder. I found yours last week and bookmarked it immediately. I’ve just now come up with a spare 20 minutes to dig through it, and I wanted to let you know how great it is and what a fantastic teacher you seem to be! Also, as I’m looking through pictures thinking, “ah, she’s probably from some place far, far away from the midwest,” I realized you were right here in Iowa, too! I teach hs art way down in the southwest corner of the state. Anyways, thanks for the inspiration and great step-by-step photos! I look forward for more to come!

    • gmgart Says:

      Wow! Thank you so much. I really appreciate the kind words. Do you have a blog? I am always looking for new ideas as well and started to blog to share with parents and fellow educators. Glad to hear you are an Iowa Art teacher 🙂 Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

